The House Managers During The Clinton Impeachment Trial

All eyes this week have been on the House Managers who have been arguing in the Senate trial for the conviction and removal of President Trump.  We’ll find out if their duties cause them difficulty in their bids for re-election this fall.

The seven Democratic House Managers are Adam Schiff (Calif.), Jerry Nadler (N.Y.), Hakeem Jeffries (N.Y.), Zoe Lofgren (Calif.), Val Demings (Fla.), Jason Crow (Colo.) and Sylia Garcia (Texas).

The country seems pretty close to being split down the middle insofar as whether Trump should be convicted on the two impeachment articles.  That wasn’t the case in 1999, when the nation, while repulsed by President Clinton’s personal conduct, did not feel his actions warranted impeachment, let alone removal.  Nonetheless, the Managers, coming from a Republican-controlled House, tried to make their case against Clinton in the Republican-controlled Senate.  Here’s who they were, when they were first elected, and how their post-impeachment political careers fared:

Henry Hyde (Ill. 1974) — Retired in 2006.

Jim Sensenbrenner (Wis. 1978) — Still in office, not seeking re-election this year.

Bill McCollum (Fla. 1980) — Ran for the Senate in 2000 but lost to Bill Nelson (D).  Elected state attorney general in 2006.  Sought governorship in 2010 but lost GOP primary to Rick Scott.

George Gekas (Pa. 1982) — Lost to fellow incumbent Tim Holden (D) in 2002, when Holden’s district was eliminated thru redistricting.

Steve Buyer (Ind. 1992) — Retired in 2010.

Charles Canady (Fla. 1992) — Retired in 2000.  Currently the chief justice of the Florida Supreme Court.

Bob Barr (Ga. 1994) — Lost to fellow incumbent John Linder (R) in 2002 when their districts were merged thru redistricting.  Was the Libertarian Party’s presidential nominee in 2008.

Ed Bryant (Tenn. 1994) — Ran for the Senate in 2002 but lost the GOP primary to former Gov. Lamar Alexander.

Steve Chabot (Ohio 1994) — Lost to Steve Driehaus (D) in 2008.  Beat Driehaus in a 2010 rematch and still serves.

Lindsey Graham (S.C. 1994) — Elected to the Senate in 2002 and still serves.  Briefly sought GOP presidential nomination in 2016.

Chris Cannon (Utah 1996) — Lost to challenger Jason Chaffetz in the 2008 GOP primary.

Asa Hutchinson (Ark. 1996) — Appointed administrator of the Drug Enforcement Administration by President Bush in 2001.  Ran for governor in 2006 but lost to state Attorney General Mike Beebe (D).  Ran again for governor in 2014 and won; currently in his second term as governor.

James Rogan (Calif. 1996) — Defeated by state Sen. Adam Schiff (D) in 2000; Schiff is currently the lead House Manager for the Trump impeachment.

Leave a Reply

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00