Meet Your New Members Of Congress

The reasons and factors behind the stunning victory of Donald Trump are still being debated in every home in the country, and that will undoubtedly continue for many through the Christmas holidays, the Inauguration and beyond.  It was that kind of election.

But what was equally remarkable was the Republican Party’s success in both the battles for the House and Senate.  Many, if not most, analysts saw the Democrats winning the five seats needed to get a majority in the Senate; they only won two.  Few expected the Dems to take control of the House, but nearly everyone thought their net gain would be considerably more than the six they got.  And that’s not to mention the sizable pickups the GOP got in the state legislative contests around the nation.

For now, we’re going to list all the new members of Congress who will take office in January.  They are listed alphabetically by state, along with their predecessor.

SENATE (Democrats +2):

California — Kamala Harris (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Barbara Boxer

Illinois — Tammy Duckworth (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Mark Kirk; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Indiana — Todd Young (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Dan Coats

Louisiana — TBD Dec. 10 — succeeded retiring Republican David Vitter

Maryland — Chris Van Hollen (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Barbara Mikulski

Nevada — Catherine Cortez Masto (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Harry Reid

New Hampshire — Maggie Hassan (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Kelly Ayotte; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

HOUSE (Democrats +6):

Arizona 01 — Tom O’Halleran (D) — succeeded Dem Senate candidate Ann Kirkpatrick

Arizona 05 — Andy Biggs (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Matt Salmon

California 17 — Ro Khanna (D) — defeated Dem incumbent Mike Honda

California 20 — Jimmy Panetta (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Sam Farr

California 24 — Salud Carbajal (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Lois Capps

California 44 — Nanette Barragan (D) — succeeded L.A. Supervisor-elect Janice Hahn

California 46 — Lou Correa (D) — succeeded Dem Senate candidate Loretta Sanchez

Delaware At-Large — Lisa Rochester (D) — succeeded Dem Gov.-elect John Carney

Florida 01 — Matt Gaetz (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Jeff Miller

Florida 02 — Neal Dunn (R) — succeeded retiring Democrat Gwen Graham; REPUBLICAN GAIN

Florida 04 — John Rutherford (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Ander Crenshaw

Florida 05 — Al Lawson (D) — defeated Dem incumbent Corrine Brown in primary

Florida 07 — Stephanie Murphy (D) — defeated GOP incumbent John Mica; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Florida 09 — Darren Soto (D) — succeeded Dem Senate primary candidate Alan Grayson

Florida 10 — Val Demings (D) — succeeded GOP incumbent Dan Webster, who moved to open 11th CD where GOP incumbent Richard Nugent is retiring; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Florida 13 — Charlie Crist (D) — defeated GOP incumbent David Jolly; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Florida 18 — Brian Mast (R) — succeeded Dem Senate candidate Patrick Murphy; REPUBLICAN GAIN

Florida 19 — Francis Rooney (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Curt Clawson

Georgia 03 — Drew Ferguson (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Lynn Westmoreland

Hawaii 01 — Colleen Hanabusa (D) — succeeded Mark Takai (D), who died July 20

Illinois 08 — Raja Krishnamoorthi (D) — succeeded Dem Sen.-elect Tammy Duckworth

Illinois 10 — Brad Schneider (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Robert Dold; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Indiana 03 — Jim Banks (R) — succeeded GOP Senate primary candidate Marlin Stutzman

Indiana 09 — Trey Hollingsworth (R) — succeeded GOP Sen.-elect Todd Young

Kansas 01 — Roger Marshall (R) — defeated GOP incumbent Tim Huelskamp in primary

Kentucky 01 — James Comer (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Ed Whitfield

Louisiana 03 — TBD Dec. 10 — succeeded GOP Senate candidate Charles Boustany

Louisiana 04 — TBD Dec. 10 — succeeded GOP Senate candidate John Fleming

Maryland 04 — Anthony Brown (D) — succeeded Dem Senate primary candidate Donna Edwards

Maryland 08 — Jamie Raskin (D) — succeeded Dem Sen.-elect Chris Van Hollen

Michigan 01 — Jack Bergman (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Dan Benishek

Michigan 10 — Paul Mitchell (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Candice Miller

Minnesota 02 — Jason Lewis (R) — succeeded retiring Republican John Kline

Nebraska 02 — Don Bacon (R) — defeated Dem incumbent Brad Ashford; REPUBLICAN GAIN

Nevada 03 — Jacky Rosen (D) — succeeded GOP Senate candidate Joe Heck; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Nevada 04 — Ruben Kihuen (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Cresent Hardy; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

New Hampshire 01 — Carol Shea-Porter (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Frank Guinta; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

New Jersey 05 — Joshua Gottheimer (D) — defeated GOP incumbent Scott Garrett; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

New York 03 — Thomas Suozzi (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Steve Israel

New York 13 — Adriano Espaillat (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Charles Rangel

New York 19 — John Faso (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Chris Gibson

New York 22 — Claudia Tenney (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Richard Hanna

North Carolina 13 — Ted Budd (R) — new district, but no net change since two incumbent Rs primaried each other in another CD

Pennsylvania 02 — Dwight Evans (D) — defeated Dem incumbent Chaka Fattah in primary

Pennsylvania 08 — Brian Fitzpatrick (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Mike Fitzpatrick

Pennsylvania 16 — Lloyd Smucker (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Joe Pitts

Tennessee 08 — David Kustoff (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Stephen Fincher

Texas 15 — Vicente Gonzalez (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Ruben Hinojosa

Texas 19 — Jodey Arrington (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Randy Neugebauer

Virginia 02 — Scott Taylor (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Scott Rigell; defeated GOP incumbent Randy Forbes, who moved into this CD because of redistricting

Virginia 04 — Donald McEachin (D) — succeeded GOP incumbent Randy Forbes, who sought re-election in another district; DEMOCRATIC GAIN

Virginia 05 — Tom Garrett (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Robert Hurt

Washington 07 — Pramila Jayapal (D) — succeeded retiring Democrat Jim McDermott

Wisconsin 08 — Mike Gallagher (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Reid Ribble

Wyoming At Large — Liz Cheney (R) — succeeded retiring Republican Cynthia Lummis

NOTE.  This list will be updated when the 12/10 Louisiana results are in.  Also, there will be special elections in the following districts:

— California 34, where Rep. Xavier Becerra (D) has been named state attorney general, succeeding Sen.-elect Kamala Harris;

— Georgia 06, where Rep. Tom Price (R) has been nominated Secretary of Health and Human Services; and

— Kansas 04, where Rep. Mike Pompao (R) has been nominated CIA director.

Leave a Reply

Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00